Peer Institutions

Emerging Research Universities (ERUs)

In early 2012, Texas State University moved up to "Emerging Research University" status. Along with seven other public institutions in the state, this classification is awarded to universities who show promise towards moving to tier-one status. This comparison group is comprised of Texas State University along with the following institutions:

  • Texas Tech University
  • University of Houston
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Texas at Arlington
  • University of Texas at Dallas
  • University of Texas at El Paso
  • University of Texas at San Antonio


THECB Accountability Out-of-State Peers

The Texas Higher Education Accountability System compares Texas State University to a group of five out-of-state Universities based on data retrieved from IPEDS. The out-of-state institutions currently included as out-of-state peers include:

  • University of New Mexico-Main Campus
  • University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Strategic Plan for Research Peers

As part of the reclassification to Emerging Research Status in January 2012, Texas State University has developed a long-term strategic plan for research to help achieve eligibility to receive National Research University Funding (NRUF) and recognition as a Research University. As part of this plan, the following national institutions were selected as a peer comparison groups for both short and long term aspirations:

Short-Term Aspirants

  • New Mexico State University
  • Clemson University
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Central Florida

Long-Term Aspirants

  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University of Oklahoma
  • University of California Santa Barbara
  • Arizona State University
  • University of Arkansas


National Peers

At the national level, Texas State University compares itself to 10 institutions that are viewed as comparable in terms of enrollment, student diversity, state funding, and mission.

  • Ball State University
  • Bowling Green State University
  • George Mason University
  • Illinois State University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Kent State University
  • Old Dominion University
  • University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee
  • Western Michigan University